San Su Temple Museum

San Su Temple is located in the center of Meishan City, southwest of Sichuan Province, on the south street of Shagang, 80 kilometers away from Chengdu and Leshan respectively. It is the former residence of the famous Northern Song Dynasty literati Su Xun, Su Shi, and Su Zhe. In the first year of Hongwu in the Ming Dynasty, the residence was changed to a temple to worship the three Sus. It was destroyed by war at the end of the Ming Dynasty and was rebuilt on the original site in the fourth year of Kangxi in the Qing Dynasty (1665). It has now become a classical garden covering 104 acres. The courtyard of San Su Temple has always been a gathering place for literati and the public to worship sages. After hundreds of years of construction, it is surrounded by red walls, green water, lotus ponds, ancient trees, small bridges, and pavilions hidden in the dense bamboo, forming a unique island dwelling feature of 'three parts water, two parts bamboo'. The pavilions are simple and elegant; the plaques and couplets are meaningful. Inside the temple, there are statues of more than ten people including Su Xun, Su Shi, Su Zhe, Mrs. Cheng, Ren Cailian, Su Baniang, Wang Fu, Wang Runzhi, Wang Chaoyun, Mrs. Shi and the six sons of the Su family, as well as portraits of Su Weidao, the ancestor of Meishan, and the ancestral tablets of the previous generations; there are wooden rockery halls, ancient wells, ink washing pools, litchi trees and other relics of the Su family; the temple houses and displays a large number of manuscripts, various printed and rubbings of poetry and calligraphy, and other cultural relics and documents of the three Su father and son. Ticket price: 40 yuan Opening hours: 9:00-18:00
View Original Text
*Created by local travelers and translated by TripGenie.
Posted: Feb 9, 2024
Mentioned in This Moment

Three-Su Temple Museum

4.6/51000 reviews | Museums
Show More
Related Moments